WAGA Logo WAGA Home WAGA header
Scholarship Foundation Trust

"Dedicated to Assisting Young Female Golfers in Higher Education"

In 1993, the Women's Alabama Golf Association established a Scholarship Foundation Trust as a 501(c)3 entity, to assist deserving female golfers from Alabama in obtaining four years of higher education. The first Board consisted of only three members: Jean Miller, President; Chris Marr, Treasurer and Ann Watlington, Scholarship Chairman. Scholarships were to be given to high school seniors who had achieved academic excellence, shown leadership and were active in the community. Applicants are in need of financial assistance and have an interest in golf. The first scholarship was for $500 per academic year for four years at an Alabama institution of higher learning.

That first scholarship was awarded to Hanna Krehling of Foley High School. Hanna graduated in 1997 from Spring Hill College with a Masters Degree. This scholarship was named in honor of Stone Hodo of Marion, Alabama. Stone was a guiding force in the earlier years of the Women's Alabama Golf Association. She served as treasurer for the Association, as well as mentor for many young girls throughout the state. She was involved in teaching and playing golf with young people in the Marion area for over 75 years. Stone encouraged all girls and women to play and enjoy the game. The WAGA selected Stone Hodo as the recipient of their Special Award in 1989.

Other recipients of the Stone Hodo Scholarship are Amanda Stimmel (2001) of Falkville High School, who graduated from Samford's McWorter School of Pharmacy in 2005 and Hailey Lann (2005) of Haleyville High School, who is currently attending the University of Alabama and will graduate in 200 8 .

In 1996, the second scholarship was named in honor of Ann Samford Upchurch of Birmingham. Ann was an excellent competitive golfer and won many championships. She was a leader in golf administration. She served as President of the Women's Alabama Golf Association, was the founder and first President of the Ladies Birmingham Golf Association and participated in many civic organizations. She was a member of the Western Golf Association and Southern Golf Association, as well as the USGA Women's Committee. Ann's passion was junior girls' golf. She was a consistent supporter and mentor for many girls in Alabama. She was honored with the LBGA Leadership Achievement Award in 1985 and the WAGA Special Award in 1988.

The Ann Samford Upchurch Scholarship was awarded to Kristen Prickett of Scottsboro High School. Kristen graduated from Auburn University in 2001. Staci Morris Woodfin, Prattville High School, was the recipient of this named scholarship in 2001 and graduated with a Masters degree from Auburn University of Montgomery in 2005.

Nicole Goodnight, Hewitt-Trussville High School, was the recipient of a scholarship in 1997 and graduated from the University of Montevallo in 2001. Holly Radford (2002) from Athens High School graduated from the University of Alabama in 2006. Holly has now earned her Masters Degree from the University of Florida. Alisha Allred Crossley, the 2003 scholarship recipient from Oak Grove High School attended the University of Montevallo, graduated from Athens State University and then obtained her Masters Degree from the University of Montevallo. In 2003, Joy BuBose was also awarded a scholarship. Joy graduated from Troy University in 2007.

Currently there are four recipients of the WAGASFT scholarships in college. They are Hillary Howell of Geneva High School, who was awarded the 2004 scholarship. Hillary attends Auburn University Montgomery and will graduate in May 2009. Karlin Beck from Trinity Presbyterian High School (2006-2010) attends Auburn University where she is a member of the Auburn golf team. Juliann Losey from Florence High School is the scholarship recipient for 2007-2011. Juliann attends the University of North Alabama. the most recent WAGASFT scholarship recipient is Peyton Moss from Daphne High School (2008-2012). Peyton is attending Auburn University.

The amount of the scholarship, currently $2,500 per academic year, is paid directly to the accredited institution of the applicant's choice in the state of Alabama. One-half of the amount is paid at the beginning of the school year and the remainder is paid upon notice that the recipient has been accepted for the next term. Renewal of the scholarship is subject to annual review of performance, interest and need. The recipient must maintain at least a C+ (2.4 out of 4) her freshman year and B- (2.8 out of 4) thereafter.

The Scholarship Program is administered by the Board of the WAGA Scholarship Foundation Trust . Decisions of the Board of Trustees are based on the submitted application and a personal interview. The current Board now consists of 3 Trustees, 6 Members and 1 Advisor: Trustee and Chairman Chris Marr, Trustee and Treasurer Mary Dean Gray, Trustee and Scholarship Chairman Ann Watlington, Member and Secretary Nancy Johnson, Members Carol Lell, Susan West, Sid Ellis, Betty Palmer and Elaine Yost; and Advisor Virginia Grimes.


2009 WAGA State Four-Ball

Mountain Brook Club

Birmingham, AL

September 28-29

Photo Gallery


GolfSouth Magazine now available digitally!
Just click on the cover below and enjoy!!

1025 Montgomery Highway . Suite 210 . Birmingham, AL 35216
PHONE:  (205) 979-2550 . FAX: (205) 979-1602